Thread Rating:
  • 2 Vote(s) - 5 Average
ANNOUNCING the Skydoms Character Spreadsheet
ANNOUNCING the Skydoms Character Spreadsheet

I've been toying around with this for a few months now, and it's finally time to unleash it on the rest of you, err, "give back to the community".  Smile

[Before anyone asks: I spoke with Skydoms developer Alex.  He's fine with making this public.]

You see, I'd been wishing for a way to quickly browse through ALL of the Skydoms fighters, compare stats and abilities, etc, without constantly going back and forth between multiple pages on the main site.

I started looking at "web scrapers"; programs that could collect data from multiple web pages into a single file.  I quickly settled on Outwit Hub as the best free solution out there, got surprisingly far with it, then said "screw it" and bought the full version specifically so I could do a proper job with this project (which by now had become a full-fledged hobby).

Fast forward a few months, and by now, the whole process is almost entirely automated.  The Outwit "Skydoms Scraper" I built collects every field from every fighter page and saves them as a plain Excel spreadsheet.  (Another part of Outwit handles downloading all of the fighter images.)  I copy the values from the plain worksheet into my previously-formatted spreadsheet, which also contains macros for (re)loading the images, (re)formatting the cells, and generally making everything look awesome.  Finally, one last macro automatically generates two NON-MACRO copies for publication: one with pictures (6MB), and one without (240KB).  

I can generate a completely new spreadsheet from the website and have both versions available for download within half an hour.  (So, the good news is: I can keep the spreadsheet pretty current when the fighters get updated!  Barring any major web page redesigns forcing me to update my scraper code itself, that is...)

WHAT'S THE PURPOSE OF THE SKYDOMS CHARACTER SPREADSHEET?